What exactly is World of Warcraft?

World of Warcraft is one of the most popular MMORPG games in the world. Blizzard Entertainment released it in 2004, and since then the developers released seven expansions. In each expansion Blizzard introduced new content and they haven’t disappointed so far.

  • The Burning Crusade (up to level 70)
  • Wrath of the Lich King (up to level 80)
  • Cataclysm (up to level 85)
  • Mists of Pandaria (up to level 90)
  • Warlords of Draenor (up to level 100)
  • Legion (up to level 110)
  • Battle for Azeroth (up to level 120)

In 2014 the game had over a hundred million registered accounts. Years later it was declared one of the highest-grossing video game franchises of all time with a revenue of over $9.23 billion. It is the fourth best-selling PC game in the world (over fourteen million copies sold).

To play, you must create an account at blizzard.com and download their app Battle.Net. Then you have to pay the monthly fee and buy game time. You have an option to buy your game time with in-game currency (gold), but you still have to pay for the first month. Once you have, you can create your username and password. After that, it is merely about customization of the physical features, picking your race and class.

As of 2018, there are twelve classes in the game: Death Knight, Mage, Druid, Warlock, Hunter, Rogue, Warrior, Demon Hunter, Priest, Monk, Paladin, and Shaman. A character can play any of three roles (Tank, Heal, DPS).

Like most MMORPG’s in World of Warcraft, you level up your character until a maximum level. You can gain the experience needed to level up with quests, dungeons, raids, or monster kills. After that, you start “farming” items for your hero. You can get them through various instances or shops with a different currency. You can also level up different professions, each giving you a different skill power up. The professions you can choose from are divided into primary and secondary. The primary ones are Alchemy, Enchanting, Leatherworking, Jewelcrafting, Blacksmithing, Engineering, Tailoring, Inscription, Herbalism, Mining, and Skinning. The secondary professions are Archeology, Cooking, Fishing, and First Aid.

Aside from gearing up, there is also the chance to earn many achievements. For example, you can achieve them if you kill a particular boss, finish leveling up a profession or simply because you have a specific number of mounts or pets. That said, pets and mounts are vanity items, obtained through reputation, boss kill, vendor, or achievement. Many are hard to drop, so many players are proud of having the rare ones.

The fictional world of the game is called Azeroth and is a part of the Warcraft fictional universe. It has various continents and even a neighboring world called Outland. The story behind the game is very developed. It has inspired many books and even a movie. It takes place within the Warcraft universe, four years after the events of the famous Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne.