Final Fantasy XIV was first released in 2010, but because of negative reception, it was shut down. The creators replaced it with “Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn.” The game takes place in a fictional world called Eorzea. In a recovering world from an apocalyptic event, you must handle the threat of invasion by the Garlean Empire. The game has over sixteen million players worldwide as of 2019. Since it's release the game's creators have launched three expansion packs:

  • Heavensward (2015)
  • Stormblood (2017)
  • Shadowbringers (2019)

Final Fantasy XIV is classified as an MMORPG (massively-multiplayer online role-playing games). To start, you must create and customize your character. You can pick from different races, genders, classes, and facial features. Players also choose whether to use a keyboard and mouse or a game console.

Improving your character is done by gaining EXP points and leveling up. Through dungeons, quests, Full Active Time Events (FATE), and killing monsters, you gain more experience. When you reach the level cap, you can continue progressing your character by earning new and better equipment. Some sources for it are crafting, elite mark hunts, raids, endgame dungeons, and primal battles.

Battle types

  1. PvE (Player versus Environment) – raids, dungeons, and primal battles
  2. PvP (Player versus Player)
  • Wolves' Den – an arena type of fighting. It features two teams of four players each.
  • Frontlines – a more significant instance in the form of a battleground in which you team up with twenty-four other players. Their allegiance defines these teams to one of three Grand Companies. Four modes of Frontlines are available, and each has different rules and locations.

Armoury System and Jobs

Your class is determined by what type of weapon you carry. There are four classes:

  • Disciples of Magic (masters of the magical arts)
  • Disciples of War (warriors of physical combat)
  • Disciples of the Land (collectors who gather resources from the environment)
  • Disciples of the Hand (crafters and helpers who create and repair items)

The Job System is a part of the Armoury System. It gives the players access to exclusive weapons, armor, magic, powerful skills. The first jobs are:

  • Healer (conjurer)
  • Tank (marauder, gladiator)
  • DPS (archer, arcanist, lancers, thaumaturge, pugilist)

You can upgrade the starting jobs eventually. There are also quests to unlock different jobs like Astrologian, Samurai, Dancer, or Gunbreaker.

Where to get it?

If you wish to try out the game before committing to giving money for it, well then you are lucky. There is a trial version in which you can play up to level 35. After that, you have a few options. You can get the starter edition and play through the initial story. Then, using the Mog Station service, you can buy each of the expansions. I think it's best to avoid buying it through Steam. It makes it easier to get it as a standalone, so you don't have to use Steam to buy every expansion. There is an option to buy the complete edition. It includes the start game and the three developments.